WV Gov. Tomblin announces federal disaster status for Mason, Roa - WBOY.com: Clarksburg, Morgantown: News, Sports, Weather

WV Gov. Tomblin announces federal disaster status for Mason, Roane

Posted: Updated:

Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin announced July 26 federal assistance has been approved for Mason and Roane counties.

The federal disaster declaration will help the counties repair after severe storms and flooding that occurred in June.

Tomblin requested the federal disaster declaration for a total of six counties July 12. His request for Doddridge, Gilmer, Harrison and Lewis counties has not been approved. Tomblin's rquest for individual assistance for Roane County residents is still under federal review.

"This assistance will help our counties address infrastructure needs resulting from the severe storms that caused flooding in Roane County and damaged a bridge in Mason County last month," Tomblin said in a news release.

The federal disaster declaration will provide public assistance funding and assistance for emergency work, repair or replacement of public facilities that were damaged from June 12-20 in both Mason and Roane counties.

West Virginia's 55 counties are each eligible to apply for hazard mitigation grants. The grants provide financial assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards.