Wheeling Jesuit University alumni select Hall of Honor inductees - WBOY.com: Clarksburg, Morgantown: News, Sports, Weather

Wheeling Jesuit University alumni select Hall of Honor inductees

Posted: Updated:
During Alumni Weekend slated June 20-22, Wheeling Jesuit University alumni from the 2014 reunion classes have selected 11 of their peers for induction in the Hall of Honor.

Created by the University's Alumni Council, the Hall of Honor provides an opportunity to recognize former classmates, faculty and staff for their contributions to their profession, society and the greater WJU community.

The 2014 Hall of Honor inductees include: William Coleman ‘59; Capt. J. James Lauer ‘64; Eugene Julian ‘64; John (Jack) Bodkin ‘69; Peter Flynn ‘74; Bridget Link Lampert ’79; Mimie O’Hara Helm ‘84; Christopher Frech ‘89; Deborah Trunnell Wilkinson ‘94; Tanya Hunt Handley ‘99; Andrew Fenton ‘04; Daniel Swan ‘09.

The 2014 Hall of Honor induction marks the fifth year each anniversary class has had the opportunity to nominate and induct one person. While WJU has several awards given to alumni, only those graduates celebrating a reunion determine the selection of Hall of Honor inductees.

"I would like to congratulate all of the 2014 Hall of Honor winners. Alumni Council looks forward to honoring each recipient this year during Alumni Weekend," said Dick Riley, president of Alumni Council.

"What makes selection into the Hall so special is that each person is chosen by his or her classmates," said Kelly Klubert, executive director of alumni and communications. "This year's Hall of Honor class has representatives from business, education, law, social services, research, athletics, health care, military and public service and we look forward to honoring them during the weekend.”

Members of the Hall of Honor will be recognized at the President's Dinner during Alumni Weekend 2014 and their names placed on the monument located outside Swint Hall.