CHS Foundation Awards $75,000 in Scholarships - Clarksburg, Morgantown: News, Sports, Weather

CHS Foundation Awards $75,000 in Scholarships

Information contained on this page is provided by an independent third-party content provider. WorldNow and this Station make no warranties or representations in connection therewith. If you have any questions or comments about this page please contact

SOURCE CHS Inc.; CHS Foundation

ST. PAUL, Minn., July 1, 2014 /PRNewswire/ -- The CHS Foundation has awarded 75 $1,000 scholarships to college students studying agriculture. This year's recipients include 50 high school seniors and 25 two-year college students from 31 states. The CHS Foundation is the major giving entity of CHS Inc. (NASDAQ: CHSCP), a leading global agribusiness owned by farmers, ranchers and cooperatives across the United States.

"At CHS, we're committed to developing strong future leaders for agriculture and rural America," says William J. Nelson, CHS Foundation president.  "We are proud to support these promising students who will play an important role in shaping the future of agriculture." 

An independent, external committee selected recipients based on their career goals, essays, extracurricular involvement, transcripts and reference letters. See below for a complete list of high school and two-year college scholarship recipients and the institutions they will attend.

Derrell Trevor Lee, Wallace State Community College
Kaela Austin Wright, Berry College

Maya Wallace, University of Arizona

Isabella Elaine Curtoni, Merced College
Micaleah Mae Schultz, California State University

Jeffrey T. Koester, Northeastern Junior College
Tara Cook, Kansas State University

Landon Marion Smith, Santa Fe College
Tien Luo Ying Weber, University of Florida

Makinizi Lynn Hoover, The University of Georgia

Judy Butay Cacal, University of Hawaii

Margarita A Contreras, University of Idaho
Quinn Inwards, College of Southern Idaho
Kelsey Ann Rogers, College of Southern Idaho

Jacob Robert Adams, Lake Land College
Courtney Beth Gerstenecker, Kaskaskia College
Kelsie Catherine Hinds, Lake Land College
Molly Novotney, Joliet Junior College
Thomas Poole, University of Illinois
Krista Dawn Temple, University of Illinois

Jacob Stanley Beyer, Dordt College
Hannah Marie Pagel, Iowa State University
Cassandra Rose Stumpf, Iowa State University
Michael Allen Tupper, Iowa State University
Jayden Dean Van Berkum, Hawkeye Community College

Cole Spencer Hamilton, Western Kentucky University

Anya Beale, Green Mountain College

Colby Dean, University of Maryland College Park

Tyler Cappaert, Michigan State University
Jami Ruth Courter, Northwood University
Richard Ray Dubke, Michigan State University
Jessica Pell, Lansing Community College
Alexandria Leah Schut, Oklahoma State University
Dirk Edward Stoneman, Michigan State University
Katelyn Walters, Black Hawk Community College

Mariah Daninger, University of Minnesota Shane Michael Klaphake, Ridgewater College
Jared Douglas Oachs, North Dakota State University
Andrew Carter Pederson, Alexandria Technical & Community College
Matthew Schroepfer, South Central College
Eleni Solberg, University of Arkansas
Austin Warner, Gustavus Adolphus College

Tracy Lavonne Muhammad, Hinds Community College

Austin Fehring, Crowder College
Bretton Michael Hale, Arkansas State University
Rylyn William Klein Small, Sikeston Career & Technical Center

Marcelle Tikka, Flathead Valley Community College

Kami Kay Crabtree, Dordt College
Marie Greer Potadle, Iowa State University

Taylor Serrano, Kansas State University

North Carolina
Haley Christine Shore, North Carolina State University
Kevin Anthony Todd, North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University

North Dakota
Ryan Martin Brock, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Kayla Lee Grimm, Bismarck State College

Mindi E. Brookhart, Ohio State Agricultural Technical Institute
Amanda Ann Szabo, Wilmington College

Brandon Scott Batty, Linn Benton Community College
Ashtin Lee Olsen, Eastern Oregon University
Cassandra Wagner, Oregon State University/Linn Benton Community College

South Carolina
John Tricoche, Clemson University

Suzanne Tipton Schultz, Mississippi State University

Brackston James McKnight, Sam Houston State University
Landon James Woods, Texas A&M University

Briana Mary Collazo, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College

Will Bowdish, Walla Walla Community College

Derrek Kamphuis, University of Wisconsin-Farm and Industry Short Course
Marissa Mary Nechuta, University of Wisconsin
Justin F. Runde, University of Wisconsin
Samantha Schoenfuss, University of Wisconsin
Jordan C. Siemers, Cornell University
William Walleser, University of Wisconsin
Austin Allen Wenck, University of Wisconsin
Elizabeth Widder, Iowa State University
Nicole Wright, University of Wisconsin-Farm and Industry Short Course

Aubree Thomas, Casper College

CHS Inc. ( is a leading global agribusiness owned by farmers, ranchers and cooperatives across the United States. Diversified in energy, grains and foods, CHS is committed to helping its customers, farmer-owners and other stakeholders grow their businesses through its domestic and global operations. CHS, a Fortune 100 company, supplies energy, crop nutrients, grain marketing services, animal feed, food and food ingredients, along with business solutions including insurance, financial and risk management services. The company operates petroleum refineries/pipelines and manufactures, markets and distributes Cenex® brand refined fuels, lubricants, propane and renewable energy products.

©2012 PR Newswire. All Rights Reserved.