Four local Single-A baseball players earn all-state honors


CLARKSBURG, W.Va. – This year’s high school baseball Single-A all-state teams were announced on Tuesday by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

Four local players earned either first or second team all-state status.

A pair of South Harrison Hawks made the first team all-state squad, they being catcher Tommy Davis and outfielder Logan Ross. Both are seniors.

Doddridge County’s senior catcher Dylan Knight earned a second team selection, as did South Harrison sophomore pitcher Josh Thomaschek.

The full list of the Single-A all-state teams are below.

Class A

First team

P — Jacob Hufford, Charleston Catholic, Sr.

P — Evan McDade, Greenbrier West, Sr.

P — Andrew Hazlewood, James Monroe, Sr.

P — Ty Walton, Tyler Consolidated, 

C — Ethyn Barnitz, Wahama, Jr.

C — Tommy Davis, South Harrison, Sr.

IF — Isaac VanMeter, Moorefield, Sr. (captain)

IF — Josh Jenkins, Sherman, Jr.

IF — J.W. Armstrong, Charleston Catholic, Sr.

IF — Caleb Blevins, Man, Jr.

IF — Caleb Nutter, Buffalo, Jr.

OF — Chase Hurley, Man, Sr.

OF — Logan Ross, South Harrison, Sr. 

OF — Jayden Helmick, Tyler Consolidated, So.

UTIL — Cy Persinger, Midland Trail, Sr.

UTIL — Hayden Baldwin, Moorefield, Sr. 

UTIL — Leewood Molessa, Williamstown, Sr.

UTIL — Michael Toepfer, Wheeling Central, Jr.

Second team

P — Josh Thomaschek, South Harrison, So.

P — Jakob Smith, Buffalo, Sr. 

P — Karson Reed, Moorefield, Jr.

P — Bryce Zuspan, Wahama, Fr.

C — Alex Miller, East Hardy, Sr.

C — Dylan Knight, Doddridge County, Sr. 

IF — Maxwell Molessa, Williamstown, Fr.

IF — Holden Allen, Sherman, Jr.

IF — Cameron Kisamore, Pendleton County, Sr.

IF — Evan Sayre, Charleston Catholic, Sr. (captain)

IF — Nathan Haeberle, Cameron, Jr.

OF — Silas McKeever, Magnolia, Sr.

OF — Logan Fox, Summers County, Sr.

OF — Logan Roach, Wahama, So.

UTIL — Isaiah Gardner, Pendleton County, Sr.

UTIL — Christian Fluharty, Hundred, Jr. 

UTIL — Brady Ankrom, Williamstown, Sr.

UTIL — Noah Boggs, Sherman, Sr. 

Honorable mention

Andrew Anglin, Ravenswood; Dustin Bailey, Tolsia; Chase Barkley, Williamstown; Nik Blackburn, Tolsia; Jason Clayton, St. Marys; Seth Cullers, Petersburg; Garrett Cunningham, Ritchie County; Zach Feathers, South Harrison; Caden Hall, South Harrison; Justin Herrod, South Harrison; Gene Hutchinson, Notre Dame; Levi Jones, Summers County; Gabe Lopez, Notre Dame; Johnathan Mallow, Petersburg; Cody Moore, James Monroe; Quentin Owens, Ritchie County; Bo Persinger, Midland Trail; Cooper Ridgway, James Monroe; Cameron Taylor, Ravenswood; Chris Vines, Midland Trail; Josh Wilson, Tolsia

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

12SportsZone Twitter

Link to 12 things you need to know page

WBOY 12 News Facebook Page

Trending Stories