Filing period for 2018 Fairmont City Council election begins


The candidate filing period for the November 6 Fairmont City Council Election will begin Monday, July 9, 2018. The Council election, to be held in conjunction with the November 6, 2018 General Election, will feature races in the City’s 1st, 3rd, 5th, 8th, and 9th Districts.

All seats for the election are for four-year terms, however, the race in the 3rd District will also include a race for an unexpired term. The successful candidate of the 3rd District unexpired term will take office at the completion of the canvass of the November 6 Municipal election through December 31. All winners for the full four-year terms will take office in January, 2019.

Candidates for the non-partisan seats must be qualified (registered) voters of the city. They must also be residents of the City of Fairmont immediately preceding his or her election and shall, at the time of his or her announcement for office and during the term of office, reside within the district from which elected.

Candidates must file in person at the City Clerk’s Office on the Third Floor of the J. Harper Meredith Building, located at 200 Jackson Street, Room 312. A $15.00 filing fee is required. The filing period runs from July 9th through August 8th.

The 1st District, which Marianne Moran has represented since January, 2015, includes May Street and Fairfax Street to Speedway Avenue, along King Street to Speedway Avenue, along Hilltop Street to the corporate limits, from Haymond Street to Cole Street as well as the intersection of the Fairmont city limits and East Marion Park, and Sallyfield Estates.

Other streets in this district include: Pittsburgh Avenue, Ohio Avenue, Mason Street, Race Street, Potomac Street and Palatine Avenue.

The 3rd District, represented by Warren Harger since March 27, 2018, is the area of Quincy Street to High Street and to Cleveland Avenue and across the High Level Bridge to the East Side. This District also includes along the Monongahela River to Alta Vista Avenue to Ohio Avenue to Mason Street and along Haymond Street to the corporate limits. Other streets in this district include: Diamond Street, Columbia Street, and Elkins Street.

The 5th District, which Fran Warner has represented since 2015, includes the area on the left going down Pennsylvania Avenue, Pennsylvania Avenue to High Street to Weather Wax Street. This District proceeds along Cleveland Avenue to Everest Drive to Virginia Avenue to 5th Street to Benoni Avenue to Emerson Street. This District also includes Emerson Street to Field Street to the corporate limits above Sterling Road and O’Dell Street. Other streets in this district include: High Street, Hamilton Street, Chestnut Street, Spruce Street, and Spring Street.

The 8th District has been represented by Tom Mainella since 2015. This area includes Wakefield Road to Broadview Avenue to Circle Drive to Locust Avenue to Sands Drive to Avalon Road. This District includes 9th Street to the Watson Bridge and from Minor Avenue to Fairmont Avenue. The 8th District also includes both sides of Fairmont Avenue between 9th Street to the Watson Bridge and from Country Club Road to Industrial Contracting Road to the West Fork River. Other streets in this area include: Fleming Avenue, Barry Street, Lake Avenue, Charles Street, West Hills Drive, Henry Drive, Hollen Circle, Pine Hill Drive and the Farms Drive area.

The 9th District, which Ronald (Ron) Straight, Sr. has represented since 2011, includes the Watson area which goes from the West Fork River to Kennywood Drive and includes Mary Lou Retton Drive and surrounding area, out Fairmont Avenue to end of corporate limits. This District will also include the NASA Boulevard area to the corporate limits. Other streets in the 9th district
include: Maplewood Drive, Mary Lou Retton Drive, Golf Drive, Gilbob Street, Warren Road, Meadowlane Avenue, Rosewood Avenue, and Otlahurst Drive area.

Council member Straight will not be able to seek re-election because of term limits. The terms of Councilmembers elected in the 1st, 3rd, 5th, 8th, and 9th Districts shall be four years and the unexpired term of the 3rd District will be for approximately a six-week term until the full term starts in January. In no event shall any Councilmember serve more than two consecutive full four-year terms.

Anyone interested in running for City Council may contact Janet Keller, City Clerk, for further information before the filing deadline of August 8th. People that are not sure what district they live in may also call the City Clerk’s Office.

The City Clerk’s phone number is 304-366-6212, ext. 329 and the hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. Again, the filing period begins at 8:30 a.m. on Monday, July 9th and ends at 4:30 p.m., on Wednesday, August 8th.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

WBOY 12 News Facebook Page