10 finalist announced for 2022 WV Teacher of the Year award

West Virginia

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — The West Virginia Department of Education (WVDE) has announced the ten finalists for the 2022 West Virginia Teacher of the Year award. Finalists were selected among the Teachers of the Year from each school district. Three of the finalist are teachers in north central West Virginia.

This year’s finalists represent elementary, middle and high school educators from all regions of the state and include:

  • Kelly Bryant – Logan Elementary School, Logan County
  • Brian Casto – Milton Middle School, Cabell County
  • Samantha Coble – Keyser Primary School, Mineral County
  • Claire Jones – Aurora School and Rowlesburg School, Preston County
  • Christine Lambert – Brandywine Elementary School, Pendleton County
  • Craig Mason – Magnolia High School, Wetzel County
  • Kennedy Moore – Midland Trail High School, Fayette County
  • Beth Nunley – Eastbrook Elementary School, Putnam County
  • Lindsey Stell – Elkins Middle School, Randolph County
  • Kimberly Tenney – Webster County High School, Webster County

“These ten educators have a passion to teach the next generation of leaders, even under extreme circumstances, and have shown incredible resolve, ingenuity and heart,” said W. Clayton Burch, West Virginia Superintendent of Schools. “I am so proud of each and every one of them, and we are honored to have them serving our students in West Virginia.”

West Virginia’s 2022 State Teacher of the Year will be announced on September 7, 2021, at a ceremony at the Culture Center in Charleston. The winner will represent West Virginia in the National Teacher of the Year Program.

For more information on each Teacher of the Year candidates, click here.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Link to 12 things you need to know page

WBOY 12 News Facebook Page

Trending Stories