CHARLESTON, W.Va. (WOWK) — Three West Virginia schools on Tuesday were named 2023 National Blue Ribbon Schools.

According to the U.S. Department of Education, these schools are three of the 353 named National Blue Ribbon Schools in the nation. Blue Ribbon Schools are picked by the performance of the school or by closing achievement gaps between subgroups of students.

The three schools honored on Tuesday include:

  • Sherman Elementary School – Comfort, Boone County
  • Jayenne Elementary School – Fairmont, Marion County
  • Ritchie Elementary School – Wheeling, Ohio County
Jayenne Elementary School in Fairmont (WBOY Image)

In 2022, three schools were also named Blue Ribbon Schools. These included Culloden Elementary School (Cabell County), Evans Elementary School (Jackson County) and C.W. Shipley Elementary School (Jefferson County).

Senator Joe Manchin (D-WV) released the following statement on the distinction.

Earning a National Blue Ribbon School recognition is an outstanding achievement for schools across the country. Young people are the future of West Virginia, and I’m incredibly proud of the students, faculty, and families who helped their schools receive this distinction in 2023. Jayenne, Ritchie and Sherman Elementary Schools have proven themselves to be excellent representatives of the Mountain State. Gayle and I join all West Virginians in congratulating the schools honored today on this academic distinction and community accomplishment.

Nineteen schools in Ohio and seven in Kentucky were named 2023 Blue Ribbon Schools. Virginia had 10, Maryland had six, D.C. had four and Pennsylvania had 13.

To see a full list of all the honorees, click here.