AG Morrisey, bipartisan coalition issue letter in effort to fight against unlawful sale of fake vaccination cards

West Virginia

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – West Virginia Attorney General Patrick Morrisey has called on Twitter, eBay and Shopify to act immediately in order to prevent people from selling fraudulent COVID-19 vaccination cards on their platforms.

A press release issued by the Attorney General’s Office on Friday stated that the bipartisan coalition of 45 attorneys general raised concerns about public health risks posed by the fake cards in a Thursday letter to the companies’ chief executive officers. The release stated that their concern specifically notes the marketing and sale of blank or fraudulently completed COVID-19 vaccination cards that bear the U.S. Centers for Disease Control (CDC) logo.

“We are deeply concerned about this use of your platforms to spread false and misleading information regarding COVID vaccines,” Attorney General Morrisey joined in writing. “The false and deceptive marketing and sales of fake COVID vaccine cards threatens the health of our communities, slows progress in getting our residents protected from the virus, and are a violation of the laws of many states.”

The release stated that providers give legitimate vaccination cards to individuals after they administer the vaccine.

Those who buy fake cards can have their own information added to the card or add it in themselves, so it appears they have been vaccinated when they have not, according to the release.

In their letter, the attorneys general ask the companies’ CEOs to do the following:

  • Monitor their platforms for ads or links selling blank or fraudulently-completed vaccination cards.
  • Promptly take down ads or links that are selling cards.
  • Preserve records and information about the ads and the people who were selling them.

West Virginia joined the North Carolina- and Tennessee-led letter with attorneys general from Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming, the release stated.

To view the letter in its entirety, click here.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Link to 12 things you need to know page

WBOY 12 News Facebook Page

Trending Stories