Your Local Election Headquarters: Doddridge County Voter Guide

Your Local Election HQ

WEST UNION, W.Va. – For registered voters in Doddridge County, here’s what can be expected on the ballot when they step into the voting booth.

Federal Races:


Voters will see four candidates: the Republican, President Donald Trump; the Democrat, former Vice President Joe Biden; Libertarian Jo Jorgensen, from South Carolina; and Howie Hawkins, the Mountain Party candidate from Syracuse, New York.

U.S. Senator:

Incumbent Republican Shelley Moore Capito is faced by Democrat Paula Jean Swearengin, of Raleigh County and Preston County Libertarian David Moran.

U.S. House of Representatives – 1st Congressional District:

Republican Rep. David McKinley, the incumbent, is challenged by fellow Wheeling resident, Democrat Natalie Cline.

State Races:


Gov. Jim Justice, a Republican, is running for reelection against Democrat challenger Ben Salango. Libertarian and Buckhannon attorney Erika Kolenich and Mountain Party candidate Danny Lutz, of Charles Town, are also on the gubernatorial ballot.

Secretary of State:

Former Secretary of State Natalie Tennant, a Democrat, is looking to take her old job back from incumbent Republican Mac Warner.


Incumbent Republican JB McCuskey is running for reelection against Democrat Mary Ann Claytor.


Democrat John Perdue is looking to hold onto the seat he has held since 1996, facing a challenge from Jefferson County Republican Riley Moore.

Commissioner of Agriculture:

Incumbent Republican Kent Leonhardt is challenged by WV 13th District State Senator Bob Beach, a Monongalia County Democrat.

Attorney General:

Two-term incumbent Republican Patrick Morrisey is seeking reelection against Democrat Sam Petsonk of Fayette County.

WV State Senate – 2nd District (shared with some or all of eight other counties):

Incumbent Republican Mike Maroney, of Glen Dale, is facing fellow Marshall County resident and Democrat Josh Gary.

WV House of Delegates – 6th District (shared with Tyler County and a portion of Pleasants County):

David Kelly, the incumbent Republican from Tyler County, is challenged by West Union resident and Democrat Cindy Welch.

Doddridge County Ticket:

On the county ticket, all candidates, who are all Republicans, are running unopposed: County Commission President Ronnie Travis, County Clerk Catee Slater, Prosecuting Attorney Brooke Fitzgerald, Assessor David Sponaugle and Surveyor Dan Wellings. All are incumbents. Clinton Boring is the only candidate on the ballot for Sheriff to replace incumbent Mike Headley.

To view the full sample ballot for Doddridge County, click here.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Link to 12 things you need to know page

WBOY 12 News Facebook Page

Trending Stories