Bridgeport’s Emily Riggs named Big 10 Conference Player of the Year


The Big 10 Conference announced its post-season awards Saturday. 

Bridgeport’s Emily Riggs was named conference Player of the Year, while North Marion head coach Mike Parish was named Coach of the Year. 

In total, seven of the ten players on the First Team all-conference team are seniors, with only two underclassmen – both from Lincoln. 

However, seven of the eleven players on the Second Team all-conference team are underclassmen, including two freshmen, with one being Fairmont Senior’s Abby Washenitz who helped lead the Lady Polar Bears to the Double-A state title Saturday. 

Below is a full list of the award winners. 

COACH OF THE YEAR: Mike Parish (North Marion)
PLAYER OF THE YEAR:  Emily Riggs (Bridgeport)

    Hannah Shriver, North Marion, SR, Co-Captain 
    Anysa Jordan, Fairmont Senior, SR, Co-Captain 
    Hannah Ferris, Lincoln, SO
    Taylor Buonamici, North Marion, JR
    Rory Marple, Bridgeport, SR
    Audrew Gaudet, Buckhannon-Upshur, SR
    Victoria Sturm, Lincoln, SO
    Isabella Posey, Lewis County, SR
    Abby Faulkner, Fairmont Senior, SR
    Alli Robinson, Buckhannon-Upshur, SR

    Michelle Thomas, Preston, SO, Captain
    Paige Humble, Bridgeport, SO
    Somer Stover, East Fairmont, SO
    Kierra Bartholow, East Fairmont, SO
    Brynne Williams, Lincoln, JR
    Meredith Maier, Grafton, FR
    Cara Minor, North Marion, SR
    Sarah Riggleman, Elkins, SR
    Emma Cayton, Lewis County, SO
    Marley Washenitz, Fairmont Senior, FR
    Haylew Willey, Robert C. Byrd, SR

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

12SportsZone Twitter

Link to 12 things you need to know page

WBOY 12 News Facebook Page

Trending Stories