Six local teams qualify for State volleyball tournament


CLARKSBURG, W.Va. – Six local teams qualified for the State volleyball tournament in Charleston after either winning a Regional Title or finishing as Regional Runner Up.

In AAA: Morgantown and Bridgeport both qualified.

In AA: Philip Barbour and Robert C. Byrd will head to the State Tournament.

In A: Ritchie County and Gilmer County both will compete for a State Title.

The full list of teams per class that will compete:

AAA: Musselman, Hedgesville, Morgantown, Bridgeport, Woodrow Wilson, George Washington, Hurricane and Parkersburg.

AA: Oak Glen, Frankfort, Philip Barbour, RCB, Shady Spring, Herbert Hoover, Winfield and Point Pleasant.

A: Williamstown, Ritchie County, East Hardy, Moorefield, Greenbrier West, Charleston Catholic, Gilmer County and Buffalo.

The State Tournament kicks off Friday into Saturday at the Charleston Civic Center.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

12SportsZone Twitter

Link to 12 things you need to know page

WBOY 12 News Facebook Page

Trending Stories