University’s Boggs leads Class AAA all-state selections


University’s Ashten Boggs was the only area player named to the first team in the Class AAA all-state selections. 

Teammate Zoe Murphy was selected to the second team.

She was joined on the second team by Morgantown’s Kaitlyn Ammons.  Ammons, not the only Mohigan to make an all-state team, as teammate Sydni Clawges made the third team. 

Buckhannon-Upshur’s Alli Robinson also was selected to the third team. 

Below is a complete list of the all-state teams, along with those that received honorable mention recognition. 

First team

Shay-Lee Kirby, Parkersburg, Sr. (captain)

Katy Darnell, George Washington, Sr. 

Madi Mace, Parkersburg, Jr.

Haley McClure, Greenbrier East, Jr.

Ashten Boggs, University, Jr.

Makenna Winans, Parkersburg South, Jr.

Shay Straughn, John Marshall, Sr.

Kalissa Lacy, George Washington, So.

Second team

Laken Ball, Woodrow Wilson, Sr. (captain)

Bre Wilson, Parkersburg, Jr.

Shanley Woods, Wheeling Park, Jr.

Zoe Murphy, University, Sr.

Myra Cuffee, South Charleston, Jr.

Kaitlyn Ammons, Morgantown, So.

Taylor Scott, Princeton, Jr.

Lavender Ward, South Charleston, Sr.

Third team

Madison Slash, Huntington, Jr. (captain)

Aleea Crites, Parkersburg, Jr.

Morganne Andrews, Martinsburg, Jr.

Emma Dotson, Greenbrier East, So.

Alli Robinson, Buckhannon-Upshur, Sr.

Sierra Hays, Parkersburg South, Sr.

Victoria Staunton, Woodrow Wilson, Jr.

Sydni Clawges, Morgantown, Sr.

Honorable Mention

Bella Abernathy, Wheeling Park; Danijah Allen, Capital; Rylee Allie, Cabell Midland; Christina Armstrong, Jefferson; Abby Blake, John Marshall; Hope Bowman, Brooke; Talayah Boxley, Capital; Jada Brooks, Spring Mills; Elizabeth Cadle, Woodrow Wilson; Amya Damon, Greenbrier East; Janaia Fargo, Musselman; Cloey Frantz, Woodrow Wilson; Audrey Gaudet, Buckhannon-Upshur; Hannah Gordon, Hampshire; Kaitlyn Groves, John Marshall; Lauren Harmison, George Washington; Autumn Hill, Greenbrier East; Jaelyn Hunt, Ripley; Tiarra Jackson, St. Albans; Amelia Jenkins, Martinsburg; Kenzie Johnson, Parkersburg South; Meghan Kearns, Hedgesville; Maddi Leggett, Parkersburg; Nadia Legros, Hurricane; Brooklyn Maxwell, Buckhannon-Upshur; Hayley McComas, Spring Valley; Mallory Napolillo, University; Emily Pavlic, Wheeling Park; Bre Saunders, Spring Valley; Carsynn Sines, Preston; Katie Swann, Huntington; Jasmine Symns, Riverside; Michelle Thomas, Preston; Alezha Turner, Huntington; Lashae Watts, South Charleston; Maliha Witten, South Charleston

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

12SportsZone Twitter

Link to 12 things you need to know page

WBOY 12 News Facebook Page

Trending Stories