WVU inducts four into ‘Academy of Distinguished Alumni’

Top Stories

MORGANTOWN, W.Va.- On Friday, four prominent leaders in the field of public relations, library science, finance, and medicine were inducted in the West Virginia University Academy of Distinguished Alumni at the Erickson Alumni Center.  

Barbra Sayre Casey, Nancy Davenport, Fred Tattersall, and Dr. Richard W. Thomas were the inductees in the academy. WVU said they are delighted to induct and recognize the hard work of all four individuals because they embody the values of the university.   

They are the 31st class of honorees to be inducted into the WVU Academy of Distinguished Alumni.

“What we really try to do is honor people who have achieved great things in life, but also have been greatly engaged in the life of our university. This is what you call pay it forward, you know, and we’re so honored when they come and bring their families and it’s a joyful occasion,” said Dr. Gordon Gee, President of West Virginia University.  

These four distinguished alumni members will join the likes of Jerry West, Kathrine Jonson, Kimberly Weaver just to name a few in the academy. 

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

WBOY 12 News Facebook Page